Home > Triathlon > STG Triathlon Championships

STG Triathlon Championships

Information & Rules 

Competing in the STG Triathlon Championships is a great way to stay focused on training and racing throughout the year. Also, the points system we have adopted to determine the winners allows for everyone to compete on an equal footing, making for an exciting and even competition.


Prizes will be awarded to:

  • 1st Placed male and female
  • 2nd Placed male and female
  • 3rd Placed male and female
  • Most improved Member
  • People’s Choice Award


The STG Triathlon Champion awards are in honour of Andrew Ongarello, who was the co-founder of STG. He died in April 2002 at the age of 31 after a tragic accident. Andrew was a true character and lived life to the fullest. He was an honest, caring person with a fantastic sense of fun and humour and his memory will live on in STG.

The winners of the STG Triathlon Championship Award are:



Female Winner Male Winner


Cassie Donovan

Gavin Biles


Helena Hayes

Tom Bills


Cassie Donovan George Miller 


Cassie Donovan

Daniel X James


Alex Rudge

Steve Ellis


Alex Rudge

Marcello Mazza


Alex Rudge

Marcello Mazza


Alex Rudge

Steve Ellis


Faith Geraghty

Steve Ellis


Nicola Harrison

Mark Timbs


Nicola Harrison

Steve Ellis


Kate Guthrie

Mark Timbs


Kate Guthrie

Matt Malady


Lydia Nicholson

Dave Williams


Donna Richards

Eoin Reville


Alice McClure

Tim Hoopmann


Victoria Farrar


Alice McClure


Sonia Kennedy


Robert Hitztaler


















Note: From 2001 to 2004 there was one overall Champion. From 2005, men’s and women’s Champions were awarded.

Points System

Participants are awarded points based on their race time in comparison to the median (middle) race time of all finishers in their age group (i.e. median time = 50 minutes / your time = 40 minutes multiplied by 1000 = 1250 points).

This points system means that everyone is competing on an equal footing in each of the age groups, which makes for an exciting and even competition.

The points for each competitor’s best 4 races from the race calendar are tallied at the end of the last race, with the winner being whoever has the most points from the four races.

The Triathlon NSW Club Championships counts as two races.

Eligibility for the Award

To be eligible for the honour of STG Triathlon Champion, or be eligible for the runner up prizes you need to:

  • Become a member of STG;
  • Compete in at least four of the races listed in the race calendar, including at least one race that is a minimum of Olympic Distance in length; and
  • Gain 21 club points. Points can be gained as follows:
    1. Attendance at a STG training session = 1 point
    2. Attendance at a STG race trip  = 3 points.
    3. Volunteering to help out with a STG activity = 3 points (eligibility at Coaches’ discretion)
    4. Competing for STG Triathlon Club at  NSW Club Champs = 4 points

Please note that participants who are members of other triathlon clubs or training groups are not eligible to participate.

For members who are renewing membership, if you pay on or before 31 December, all your races for the period will count towards your total. If you pay from 1 January, only races from the date of payment will be counted.

For new members who weren’t a member of STG in the previous year, races will be counted from the date payment is made to become a member.